jump to navigation

Edublog Awards November 29, 2009

Posted by IaninSheffield in Inspiration.
trackback

Edublog Awards 2009

These nominations represent a small sub-section of those people in my PLN without who’s sage advice, wise counsel and inspiring ideas, I wouldn’t be half the person I’ve yet to become!

  • Best individual blog – Steve Wheeler, ‘Learning with ‘e’s  (http://steve-wheeler.blogspot.com/)  I rarely read a post from Steve which doesn’t challenge me to think . . . or leaves me with a wry grin.
  • Best teacher blog – Tom Barrett (http://edte.ch/blog/)  Tom’s commitment to his students, his understanding of  learning process and the way he inspires others leaves me in awe.
  • Best individual Tweeter – Alec Couros (http://twitter.com/courosa)  When starting on Twitter as a way to develop a PLN, I maintained I wasn’t interested in the basic Twitter question ‘What are you doing?’ Alec changed that for me by letting me see that the respect I have developed for what he has to say about elearning is, at least in part, due to the the fact that I feel I know him through the breadth of his Tweets.
  • Best educational use of video/visual – Commoncraft (http://www.commoncraft.com/)  For concise explanations of Web 2.0 tools (and other ICT related topics) in language understandable by anyone, these videos are hard to beat.
  • Best resource sharing blog – Free Technology for Teachers from Richard Byrne (http://www.freetech4teachers.com/) provides a continual stream of great ideas and resources.
  • Most influential blog post – ‘A teen’s view of social networking and digital citizenship’ from Terry Freedman.  Not sure what influence it had globally, but it certainly had an impact on me.  Reading about and listening to the mature and articulate views on the use of ICT in education . . . from a teenager, unquestionably influenced my thinking.

Since I’ve only recently begun blogging, this is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to make nominations, however during the coming year, I’ll be keeping a close eye out for all those nuggets of wisdom deserving of further recognition.

Comments»

1. Richard Byrne - November 29, 2009

Thank you for the nomination.

ianinsheffield - November 29, 2009

You’re more than welcome Richard – small price for the fantastic resources I enjoy through subscribing to your RSS feed

2. Steve Wheeler - November 30, 2009

Thanks Ian – I’m honoured to be included in such excellent company! 🙂


Leave a Reply

