jump to navigation

CPD – thinking out of the box . . . and onto the bus January 11, 2010

Posted by IaninSheffield in CPD, Inspiration.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Running home from work has been a whole lot easier since I got the iPod Touch.  How so you ask?  Well I’ll tell you.

Sheffield Bus

cc licensed ( BY NC SA ) flickr photo by harry_nl: http://flickr.com/photos/harry_nl/2316606207/

On days when I want to run home, I go to work on the bus, catch it part way home and run the last stretch.  The journey in is about an hour; on the way home a bit less.  To pass the time, I  used to carry a book . . . until I got the Touch.  Now I carry that and save a few hundred grams in my backpack.  But actually I get a lot more because I can choose my reading matter from a variety of ebooks.  Or I can pick from a selection of research articles.  Alternately I can read up on some of the blog posts I synched onto the Touch from ‘Read IT Later.’   Then again I can choose to listen to a podcast or two – the EDUTalk 365 project from David Noble and John Johnston is providing some really informative podcasts at the moment.  There’s more though – I can watch vodcasts . . . which is what I chose to do this morning.  So on a bus travelling towards Sheffield, I was watching and listening to Drew Buddie‘s excellent presentation ‘Whither eportfolios‘ which he presented to the K12 Online conference, convened in the United States, back in December, from his home north of London.

Now I think that’s impressive.  That from a device that’s 10x6x0.5cm weighing a few grams, and whilst travelling on a bus in South Yorkshire, I can watch a half hour presentation created a month ago in Hertfordshire and delivered at an online conference in the US.  WOW!  iPod Touch = CPD Nexus?

Yet I still hear colleagues saying that there just aren’t the opportunities for professional development.  That they can’t get out of school to attend them and that they don’t have the time anyway.  I’d contend that there’s plenty out there . . . what’s more you don’t have to go to it, you can bring it to you, at a time and place that suits.  What more could you ask?

(And with the DigitalMaverick‘s help, I learned heaps about eportfolios – thanks Drew)

Comments»

1. whatedsaid - January 26, 2010

Loved this post, Ian! So true that you can get quality CPD anywhere anytime now and there are no excuses 🙂 My husband has an ipod touch… maybe I can persuade him that he doesn’t really need it…

ianinsheffield - January 26, 2010

I think that’s definitely a good opening gambit Ed – or perhaps he’d swap for a straight mp3 player – or maybe on the next special occasion, he could be persuaded that you deserve your own.

OK I know! Typical blokey thought train . . . tech on ‘special occasion’ – duh! It’s just the way we’re built – some of us 😉


Leave a Reply

