jump to navigation

Credit where credit’s due . . . June 13, 2010

Posted by IaninSheffield in CPD, Management, Web 2.0.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Earlier in the week, I had quite an important meeting with the Senior Management Team in school. Following a previous session during which we had been undertaking a self-review, it became clear that there were many issues concerning ICT that I was familiar with, that they weren’t (enjoying the support of my PLE doubtless helped here). So, rather bravely I thought, they asked if I would put together a session to help inform them what’s available and possible – recent developments and where things are moving. A wonderful opportunity!

A major influence on my professional development over the last year has been Twitter, so to try to get across a flavour of that, I thought I would try my first ‘shout-out’ to my network and feed the responses into the session. The question I asked – “How does Twitter help your professional development?” I was delighted to get any replies at all, but incredibly grateful for the thought that people had put in. Certain threads began to emerge and Twitter clearly provides professional development which:

  • connects with a diverse range of passionate professionals
  • surfaces a wealth of resources, tools and ideas
  • inspires and stimulates
  • achieves more (for some people) than other forms of PD
Gift

From MarcinMoga on Flickr

We covered many other areas during the session: the Cloud, progress in mobile and games-based learning, intelligent searching – enough for a dozen blog posts!. For me though, what Twitter (and other networking tools) offers ought to be the most significant message to take away . . . . and it’s not just me saying that, it’s other professionals who are much wiser than me too. They took a few moments out of their busy lives to respond to my request; they gave a ‘gift¹.’ Perhaps that’s the true power of the community I enjoy on Twitter?

Full responses and the wonderful people who responded are listed here.

¹Godin, S., 2010. Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? How to Drive Your Career and Create a Remarkable Future, Piatkus Books.

Thanks to @whatedsaid‘s post for pointing me at this book

Comments»

1. Tweets that mention Credit where credit’s due . . . « In the pICTure -- Topsy.com - June 14, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ian Guest, GirlsDaySchoolTrust. GirlsDaySchoolTrust said: RT @IaninSheffield: Thinkng about responses to my request for how Twitter helps your PD – http://bit.ly/cKzeMl … and thanking those wh … […]


Leave a Reply

