jump to navigation

Scanning the Horizon July 3, 2010

Posted by IaninSheffield in CPD, Inspiration, research, Web 2.0.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Each year, the New Media Consortium, in collaboration with EDUCAUSE, produce and release the Horizon Report – an exploration by a large group of leading forward thinkers what technologies are likely to be of influence in the short (this year), medium (2-3 years) and longer (3-5 years) terms.  Predominantly aimed at Higher Education, there is still much for my sector (Primary/Secondary Ed.) to learn from the suggested emerging technologies, the key trends and the challenges we’re facing.  Begun in 2002 and available in digital form since 2004, the previous editions are available to download and distribute under a CC license.  Even better is that the last two years have seen the release of a special K12 edition of the report.  This year I noticed that NMC had considerately made all previous reports available in a single PDF – the ‘boxed set’ version.  And that set me thinking . . .

Wordle: Horizon Reports 2004-2009

There’s a heap on interesting information in here which could stimulate further discussion . . . but encouraging colleagues who don’t share the same passion(?) for ICT that I do to read and analyse that whole archive was a non-starter.  So I began thinking how I might summarise the main findings of all the reports and also begin to explore the chronology of the emerging trends and how accurate the reports have proven over the course of time.

I thought a timeline application might suit, so scanned back through my Delicious links, finally settling on TimeGlider, an online offering which satsified the first criterion of being free and also offered most of the other functionality I was chasing.  I decided that in addition to the six significant technologies each report focused on (2 for each term), I’d also include the key trends which influenced these choices.  Much cutting and pasting later, the data is in TimeGlider, but here’s the rub.  The CC licence under which the reports are released allows for duplication and redistribution in full, but not for derivative works.  So is what I’ve done a ‘derivative’ work?  Since I’m not sure, before I publish the timeline, I thought it would be wise and courteous to contact NMC and see what they think . . . so we’ll wait and see.

Think the next post is already writing itself itself and could go either of two ways . . .

Comments»

1. ianinsheffield - July 5, 2010

Had a very prompt and positive response from Larry Johnson, Chief Exec Officer at NMC:
“This is a very creative approach and we love to see such things. Our CC license is very open – all we ask is that you attribute the work in the Reports to the New Media Consortium — something as simple as:
The Horizon Reports are published by the New Media Consortium.
Thank you for sharing your work!”

That’s the least I can do, so further post to follow.

2. Alan Levine - July 9, 2010

Keep the experiments going, looking forward to it. You may know already, but FYI, we’ve done a K-12 Horizon report for 2009 and 2010

http://www.nmc.org/publications/2009-horizon-k12-report
http://www.nmc.org/publications/2010-horizon-k12-report

The full catalog is
http://www.nmc.org/publications/horizon

ianinsheffield - July 10, 2010

Thanks for the feedback and heads-up Alan. I am indeed aware of the K12 reports which are of even more interest to me, as that’s the sector in which I work. I’m looking forward to exploring how I can visualise the important messages they contain in a form which teaching colleagues, hard-pressed for time, can digest.

Yet more to come then! 😉


Leave a Reply

