jump to navigation

100 Not Out! June 3, 2012

Posted by IaninSheffield in Musings.
Tags: , ,
trackback
milepost

cc licensed ( BY NC ND ) flickr photo by sleepymyf: http://flickr.com/photos/myf/5119580963/

Having reached a century of blog posts, it seemed like an appropriate milepost to pause for thought and take a brief look back.

My first post in October 2009 set out why I made the decision to start blogging and what I hoped to gain from the experience … and those final few words sum it up I guess. ‘What I hoped to gain from the experience.’ I never assumed for one moment that anything I had to say would carry any import for anyone else. If by chance something I pen (keyboard?!) helps someone or challenges their thinking, then that is particularly rewarding, but if no-one comments nor even reads the post, then I’m comfortable with that. The overriding reason behind any post is to help me to crystallise my thoughts, to help resolve conflicting views, to bring order to a chaotic swirl of random ruminations or simply to organise and sequence a set of ideas.

As a brief summary, these one hundred posts:

constitute around 50 000 words (or more than the total number of words I wrote for both Masters’ dissertations combined)

  • have been viewed just under 10 000 times, averaging about 10 views a day and peaking at 152 on June 23rd, 2011
  • receive around 2/3 comments per post (half of which are my replies to people kind enough to take the time comment)
  • quite surprisingly enjoy the majority of their incoming traffic from Google searches, rather than Twitter (though that is a fairly close second)
  • are viewed mainly be readers in the UK

Locations of blog readersThe most popular post by some considerable margin and one which continues to attract regular views arising from Google searches is “30 Skills a Teacher Should Have” and there’s probably a whole post to be written on analysing why that might be.

So are those figures good or bad? Would I be graded Satisfactory or Outstanding? Well for me the figures are no more than a distraction. The value has always stemmed from and will continue to stem from the process not the product. [Would that our education system reflected a similar disposition?]

Mark Harai lists 6 key qualities of a good blog:

  1. Passion
  2. Openness
  3. Engagement
  4. Insight
  5. Encouragement
  6. Similarities

I hope I tick some of those boxes, but as I move forward, I’ll endeavour to maintain quality in areas in which I perform well and strive to improve areas where I could be doing better. Thanks for your company.

Comments»

1. jensine - June 3, 2012

well done, nowhere near there yet … only been at it two months

ianinsheffield - June 3, 2012

Ah, but from little acorns …
At the rate you’re posting however, it’ll not be long before I’m little more than a tiny dot in your rear view mirror 😉

jensine - June 3, 2012

lol … I kind of thought you had to post every day and as I am enjoying it I think as long as my mind comes up with something to say I will … and if not i’ll take a break 🙂

2. Lois Lindemann (@MoreThanMaths) - June 3, 2012

Congratulations – here’s to the next 100!

I like the ’30 Skills a Teacher Should Have’ post – I missed that one at the time (Alan had just come out of hospital with a broken leg full of pins – so I missed quite a few things around then.) I’ve never read The Craft of the Classroom, but since it turns out to be a bargain 1p + pp on Amazon, there’s no excuse for really. I’ll be giving that a go.

ianinsheffield - June 4, 2012

Thanks Lois, much appreciated.
I can’t for the life of me find my original copy of Marland, so I too have ‘Bought with 1 click.’ Thanks for the pointer.

3. Mark Harai (@Mark_Harai) - June 5, 2012

Hi Ian,

This is some great info to know and understand to grow a blog. Admittedly, I’m not there yet!

I’m going to start taking a look at my statistics – I don’t have any idea what they are… I just enjoy writing and sharing things I’ve learned on my business journey and the insights I’ve gained participating on the social web.

Thanks the mention sir and make it a great week : )

ianinsheffield - June 5, 2012

You’re more than welcome Mark and thank *you* for your post – wise words.


Leave a Reply

