jump to navigation

Manufactured serendipity? May 4, 2016

Posted by IaninSheffield in Uncategorized.
trackback

Marginal Notes

flickr photo by BBC Radio 4 https://flickr.com/photos/bbcradio4/4741887686 shared under a Creative Commons (BY-NC) license

I’m not sure why it was such a surprise that a mote of inspiration happened by me whilst out for a run this morning, but it was. As a distraction from the discomfort of running, I often listen to podcasts. Sometimes they’re related to my studies, so I get a mental as well as a physical workout. Sometimes they’re just enjoyable or informative; Radio 4 podcasts are wonderful here. If I’ve something I need to ponder at greater length, I’ll leave the mp3 player at home. But today was just meant to be some light relief courtesy of ‘The Infinite Monkey Cage,’ which joyfully brings science and humour together. The topic was serendipitous discovery in science and how some of the great discoveries have come about by what appears to be chance. Not particularly closely related…

View original post 1,065 more words

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

