jump to navigation

Fluff? April 3, 2011

Posted by IaninSheffield in Musings.
Tags: , ,
trackback

A couple of different sources I was scanning through lead me to this post. The first was a blog post offering 3 Ways to Use Wordle  for More Than Fluff, from Ben Rimes the Tech Savvy Educator … which stayed in my mind while I was reading through some of the archive of the purpos/ed campaign. In the latter I caught a(nother) mention of the Government’s Education White Paper 2010, and found myself rather embarrassed that I still haven’t read it.  And then I made the connection!

Perhaps a start might be to link the two things and consider what Wordle might do to begin my exploration of the White Paper. So one download, a Ctrl+A, Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V later, Wordle delivered the goods.

Wordle: The Importance of Teaching

Only changed the font and layout; no words were harmed in the making of this Wordle. So given the rationale behind the paper:

… sets out a radical reform programme for the schools system, with schools freed from the constraints of central Government direction and teachers placed firmly at the heart of school improvement

it’s no surprise that ‘schools’ figure heavily. ‘Teachers,’  ‘Pupils’ and ‘Education’ are prominent too. However the ‘Where’s Wally’ word was definitely ‘learning‘ – see if you can find it. Yes, that’s it; a long, long way behind ‘Academy(ies),’ ‘performance,’ ‘behaviour,’ ‘qualifications,’ ‘standards,’ ‘funding’ and ‘money.’

Looks like it’s gonna be a great read …

Comments»

1. techsavvyed - April 4, 2011

I only wish that my application of my very same suggestion had produced the same results. Apparently, most politicians in my government aren’t as public education friendly right now.

Really glad you enjoyed the post, and the ideas. Glad to know people are putting Wordle to good use 🙂

ianinsheffield - April 4, 2011

Nor here either Ben; nor here either.
Thanks for checking this out, thanks for your original post and apologies for the typo on your blog name too – now corrected.


Leave a comment